Clallam County Public Utility District #1 is directed by a three-member board of commissioners elected by citizens of the county. Each commissioner represents a different sector of the county and serves a six-year term. Each commissioner also represents the District as a delegate to various business organizations. The terms are staggered so that a different commissioner stands for election every two years.

The Commissioners set utility policies and hire a General Manager to implement those policies.  Washington RCW Chapter 54.12 governs Public Utility District Commissioners.

Commissioners’ meetings are open to the public and start at 1:30 p.m.  Meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Mondays, monthly, at the PUD boardroom in the Carlsborg Main Office. Agendas and notice of location is available prior to meetings on our Commission Meetings page.

Board positions of president, vice president, and secretary are established by the commissioners themselves on December of each year for the ensuing two years.